home program process press

Livingston Memorial Foundation

2801 Townsgate Road, Suite 200     Westlake Village, CA 91361     (805) 418-3115

Our Purpose

The Livingston Memorial Foundation is a private, charitable foundation that administers a trust dedicated to the promotion of medical and health services of benefit to the people of Ventura County. The Foundation was formed in 1974 by Dr. Charles M. Hair and Ben E. Nordman, Esq. to carry out the wishes of Ruth Daily Livingston, the widow of Dr. William R. Livingston, a prominent early Ventura County physician.

Are we the Livingston Memorial Visiting Nursing Association?

In 1980 the Livingston Memorial Foundation successfully encouraged local hospitals and the Ventura Visiting Nurse Association to expand their vision in the delivery of county-wide home health care. In honor of this extraordinary collaborative effort the Visiting Nurse Association changed its name to the Livingston Memorial Visiting Nurse Association. While the LMVNA is a totally separate and distinct organization from the Livingston Memorial Foundation, its mission to provide comprehensive home health care services to Ventura County patients regardless of their ability to pay is still supported and encouraged by the Livingston Memorial Foundation Board. The LMVNA must follow the same process as do all other qualified applicants in applying for grant funding from the Livingston Memorial Foundation.

The Board of Directors


Laura K. McAvoy, Esq.

Kathleen F. Deutschman

Richard Loft, M.D.

Thomas P. Pecht

John R. Walters, M.D.

Jane Donlon Waters, R.N., MSN


Ben E. Nordman, Esq. (1974-1985)
James K. Mason, M.D. (1974-1994)
Ralph L. Cormany, Esq. (1986-2002)
Walter W. Hoffman (1974-2008)
Thomas F. McGrath, III (2009-2013)
W. Cloyce Huff, M.D. (1974-2015)
Charles M. Hair, M.D.(1974-2019)
Marcia L. Donlon (1999-2021)

Karen Escalante-Dalton

General Counsel:
Musick, Peeler & Garrett LLP


Laura K. McAvoy, Esq. President and Chairman of the Board
Dr. Richard Loft Vice Chairman and Vice President
Dr. John R. Walters Chief Financial Officer
Ms. Katie Deutschman Secretary and Assistant Chief Financial Officer
Mrs. Jane Waters Assistant Secretary
Mr. Thomas P. Pecht Assistant Secretary

2013 National Philanthropy Day
2013 National Philanthropy Day

home program process press